All of Us Can Use Tools

A Stanley No. 4C smoothing plane, Type 11

Greetings. I am a novice woodworker and tool-lover. I’ve dabbled in woodworking for years, but never enough to gain real skills. I want to change that. Setting up a shop, learning how to restore and use the tools, and completing some introductory projects are my initial goals over the next year. I don’t have a lot of time to devote to the workshop, so I don’t expect progress to be fast but I want progress to be made. As I do, I intend to document it here.

My great-grandfather was a traditionally trained carpenter from Britain and worked as such all his life. I am fortunate to have inherited some of his tools. My shop will be essentially a handtool-only shop; no big machines, and the equipment powered by me rather then electrons. There are exceptions, like for home improvement chores, a bench top drill press once it’s cleaned up, and maybe some small cool “old arn” pieces I’ve got tucked away for restoration at some point.

 

GGDPlaneImageOptimedit1
The plane that started it all

My great-grandfather’s tools are in remarkable condition considering they are up to 100 years old and were used daily for the first 3 decades or so of their existence. I was entrusted with a Stanley No. 4C smoothing plane, a Stanley No. 626 eggbeater drill and a Canadian Warren Co. 3/4” chisel. Other then these, my kit consists of typical hardware store toolbox items and a few select tools from Lee Valley, including the culmination of years of gift cards and my biggest purchase to date, a Veritas low angle jack plane. As I add more “fine woodworking” tools, most will be used or vintage and require varying degrees of restoration, which I will also document in this blog. Welcome to my journey.

A - 1 (3)
Handles burnished by three generations of my family’s hands

Leave a comment